Congressional Leaders Receive Mary Tyler Moore Award

JDRF awards inaugural honor to three women trailblazers

Today in Washington D.C., JDRF, the leading global type 1 diabetes (T1D) research and advocacy organization, presented the inaugural Mary Tyler Moore Awards to three women leaders in Congress who have been instrumental in the fight against T1D. U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), co-chairs of the Senate Diabetes Caucus, were honored alongside Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO), co-chair of the Congressional Diabetes Caucus, for their longstanding support of the T1D community.

“I am truly touched that the inaugural award in Mary Tyler Moore’s name celebrates three government leaders—Susan Collins, Jeanne Shaheen, and Diana DeGette—who partnered with Mary to assure more federal funding of T1D research, including the funding of critical research resources, consortia, and clinical trial networks to bring us closer to cures,” said S. Robert Levine, M.D., her husband of more than 30 years and longtime leading JDRF volunteer.

“Thanks to the enduring efforts of Mary Tyler Moore, we are moving closer every day to new treatments and cures for type 1 diabetes and its complications,” said Cynthia Rice, JDRF’s chief mission strategy officer. “Senators Shaheen and Collins and Rep. DeGette have been steadfast allies in Congress to the type 1 diabetes community. JDRF is proud to recognize their work as they carry Mary Tyler Moore’s legacy forward.”