Mary Tyler Moore Award

Congressional Trio Receives First Mary Tyler Moore Award

JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation) and Dr. S. Robert Levine presented the inaugural Mary Tyler Moore Award to Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO) on March 22, 2023 in Washington, D.C. The award recognizes the three lawmakers’ outstanding leadership and commitment to fighting diabetes.

The award highlights the leadership of women who, like Mary, question the status quo, bravely take risks, and drive changes to improve the lives of those living with T1D. As stalwart champions to the T1D community, each award recipient has provided exemplary leadership and has passed legislation that will improve the lives of those living with T1D. These include the Special Diabetes Program (SDP)—which funds $150 million to diabetes research per year—and insulin affordability, including a cap on the price of insulin at $35 per month for Medicare enrollees.

Diagnosed with T1D at the age of 33, Mary Tyler Moore served as international chairman of JDRF from 1984 to 2017. Moore was a vocal advocate for people with diabetes, and she used her platform to raise awareness of the disease and its challenges. She used her fame and influence to bring government, scientists, and people living with diabetes together to advance T1D advocacy and innovation.

“Thanks to the enduring efforts of Mary Tyler Moore, we are bringing new treatments forward and moving closer every day to cures for type 1 diabetes and its complications,” said Cynthia Rice, JDRF’s chief mission strategy officer. “Senators Collins and Shaheen and Rep. DeGette have been steadfast allies in Congress to the T1D community. JDRF is proud to recognize their work as they carry Mary Tyler Moore’s legacy forward.”

Donate Today

Support our work by donating today to the Mary Tyler Moore Vision Initiative fund to PRESERVE and RESTORE vision for people with diabetes.